Modi appointed PM for the third time

President invites him to form government, swearing-in on Sunday

GN Bureau | June 7, 2024

#General Elections   #Lok Sabha   #Droupadi Murmu   #President   #Narendra Modi   #BJP  

Narendra Modi was Friday appointed the prime minister for a historic third time, as president Droupadi Murmu invited him to form the next government. The swearing-in ceremony for the new council of ministers will take place on Sunday.

“The President, having satisfied herself on the basis of the various letters of support received, that the BJP-led NDA alliance, which is also the largest pre-election alliance, is in a position to command majority support of the newly constituted 18th Lok Sabha and to form a stable government, appointed Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India exercising powers vested in her under Article 75(1) of the Constitution of India,” a Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué said.

The president requested Modi to “indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan and also advise her about the names of other persons to be appointed as members of the Union Council of Ministers”, the statement said.

The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7.15 pm on June 9, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, another statement later said.

A delegation of the NDA led by J. P. Nadda, president, BJP, called on the president at Rashtrapati Bhavan at 2.30 pm and handed over a letter stating that Modi had been elected as the Leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party. Letters of support from NDA constituent parties were also handed over to the president.

The other members of the delegation were Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Dr. C. N. Manjunath from BJP; N. Chandrababu Naidu from Telugu Desam Party; Nitish Kumar, Rajiv Ranjan Singh (Lalan Singh) and Sanjay Jha from Janata Dal (United); Eknath Shinde from Shiv Sena; H.D. Kumaraswamy from Janata Dal (Secular);   Chirag Paswan from Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas); Jitan Ram Manjhi from Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular); Pawan Kalyan from Janasena; Ajit Pawar from Nationalist Congress Party; Anupriya Patel from Apna Dal (Soneylal); Jayant Chaudhary from Rashtriya Lok Dal; Joyanta Basumatary from United People’s Party Liberal; Atul Bora from Asom Gana Parishad; Indra Hang Subba from Sikkim Krantikari Morcha; Sudesh Mahto and Chandra Prakash Choudhary from All Jharkhand Students Union; and Ramdas Athawale from Republican Party of India (A).



Other News

Taming turbulence in Indian aviation

The booming Indian aviation industry, among the fastest growing sectors in the world, is projected to be valued at $40 billion by 2027. But, despite robust demand for air travel across the country, more than 50 airlines have closed down in the last decade in India and most private airlines have closed with

PM Modi leaves for G7 Summit in Italy

In his first foreign visit after taking oath of office for the third time, prime minister Narendra Modi Thursday evening left for Italy to participate in the G7 Outreach Summit. “At the invitation of Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni, I am travelling to Apulia region in Italy to participat

Some market talk, some gossip – learnings over tea at RBI

A Fly on the RBI Wall: An Insider’s View of the Central Bank By Alpana Killawala Rupa Publications, 248 pages, Rs 595  

Coalition politics not expected to impact India’s foreign policy

Prime minister Narendra Modi has strived incessantly to bring laurels and much needed recognition for the nation since May 2014 when he was sworn in as the head of state. The poser which can be deliberated upon is this: What will be the consequential impact of the new era of coalition politics which confro

New govt`s first decision pushes for farmer welfare

The BJP-led NDA government has started its term with its first decision relating to farmer welfare. Narendra Modi took charge of office as prime minister of India for the third time on Monday, a day after he and his colleagues were sworn in by the president of India. In his fi

Narendra Modi takes oath for third term

Narendra Modi made history Sunday evening as he was sworn in by president Droupadi Murmu for a third successive term. Modi thus becomes the first prime minister since Jawaharlal Nehru to have comptered two full terms and beginning a third consecutive term. In the swearing-in c

Visionary Talk: Amitabh Gupta, Pune Police Commissioner with Kailashnath Adhikari, MD, Governance Now


Current Issue


Facebook Twitter Google Plus Linkedin Subscribe Newsletter