States agree for common entrance test for IITs

If adopted by a state, test papers would be available in regional language in addition to English and Hindi


Jasleen Kaur | June 5, 2012

The state education ministers unanimously agreed for a common entrance test for centrally-funded technical institutes, including IITs.

During the state education ministers' conference in Delhi on Tuesday, states broadly agreed to the one test plan for centrally-funded technical institutes like IITs, NITs and IIITs.

The IITs have been allowed to hold a second advance test after filtering students who appear for the common entrance. It was strongly criticised by Bihar education minister Prashant Kumar Shahi. He said, “Why should IITs take a different course.”

But HRD minister Kapil Sibal said IITs will come on board by 2015.

The Maharashtra representative said that a consultation with various stakeholders was organised by the state government and it was in support of the common test.

Ramanlal Vora, the education minister from Gujarat, who asked that test should also be available in Gujarati language, also agreed to the format.

The minister also said that states would have the freedom to join in the common examination system and have the autonomy to determine their own relative weightages for Class XII Board marks, performance in JEE-main and JEE-advanced.

Also, the Academic Body to be constituted for the JEE-MAIN test would have representation from states.

The state education ministers were also told that if a state intends to join the common test for admission to engineering institutions, the exam papers would be made available in the regional language of the state in addition to English and Hindi.

After detailed deliberations, the proposal for a common examination process for admission to engineering programmes was supported unanimously.

The states said that IITs should also adopt the same format as other central educational institutions.

But the IIT alumni is not happy with the decision. Somnath Bharti, president of the IIT Delhi Alumni Association and supreme court lawyer, said, “We sent our analysis to the government’s proposed plan and met the minister and he assured us that government would not go ahead with the proposed common entrance examination if there was even one case of dissent.” Bharti is now considering a public interest litigation to challenge the new common entrance exam decision on the ground that the institutes’ autonomy has been compromised.



Other News

Modi wave, it seems, shows no signs of stopping

The voters’ trust in Brand Modi is not a short-term affair – if anything, it is only increasing, or so it seems going by the numbers exit polls have given after the Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections. Predictions from three TV channels differ widely but each has the BJP/NDA in the top p

All you wanted to know about Maharashtra, Haryana elections

Fact Sheet: Maharashtra assembly elections * Date of polling: 21 October * Date of counting 24 October * Assembly Constituencies: 288 * 2014 results: The BJP contested 260 states, and won 122, with a voting percentage of

Manmohan Singh favours ‘time-tested measures’ for economy

The much hyped ‘double engine’ model of governance on which the BJP is seeking votes has utterly failed, and Mumbai and Maharashtra have had to face some of the worst effects of economic slowdown, former prime minister Manmohan Singh has said. A lot of problems facing Maharashtra

“If the oppn is weak you can’t blame the govt for that”

A three-term Rajya Sabha member, Sanjay Raut is the Shiv Sena spokesperson and its voice in parliament. He is also the executive editor of Marathi newspaper Samana, started by Shiv Sena founder Bal Thackeray. Raut spoke with Geetanjali Minhas on his party’s seat-sharing agreement

Ashish Shelar of BJP says, “We are very confident of victory”

Ashish Shelar, 47, was the president of the Mumbai city unit of the BJP, before he became the minister of school education, sports and youth welfare in the Maharashta government this year. He has represented the Vandre West constituency in the state assembly and seeking re-election. In a chat with

Nobel for economics goes to `global fight against poverty`

The Nobel Prize in economics for 2019 goes to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer "for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty." The prize, known as “The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel”, was announc


Current Issue


CM Nitish’s convoy attacked in Buxar


Facebook    Twitter    Google Plus    Linkedin    Subscribe Newsletter